Skip to main content

Planning Teams on Clipboard

This article outlines how to plan ahead with future Teams in Clipboard.

'Planned Teams' (or Planned Groups) is an entirely optional mode where you can plan future Teams, without setting them "live". For example, if you had a Team list right now that hasn't finished up for the term, but you're planning next term's list for the same Team, you can use the Planned mode. The list of students in the Planned Teams can only be seen by Admins and Managers, not Staff Users, and not students and parents.

To create Planned Teams, follow the steps in this article on Creating Teams. Then, select the Teams to be created or uploaded as Planned and not Current.

Why would you use Planned Teams?

Any time you have an existing team that is currently still rehearsing, or training and playing games together, but you also need to start planning for the new term or Season. For example:

  • Auditions are happening for the Music Ensembles in Term 4, for the groups beginning in Term 1 the following year. You can use the planned section to begin planning the new Teams, while the 'current' teams are still rehearsing for end-of-year performances.

  • The Winter Basketball 1sts are still training for their final games, but you're also about to begin trials for the Summer 1sts Team. You can plan those new Teams before the end of the Season if required.

Using Planned Teams within Clipboard will reduce double handling, because you won't need to create these lists outside of Clipboard before uploading them!

Can I make Planned Teams current?

Once you've planned your future Teams and you're ready to make them current, follow these steps to make Planned Teams current in bulk:

  1. Go to the Planned Teams tab

  2. Click Manage Teams (top right)

  3. Select Use the Planned Team Lists

  4. Tick the boxes of the Teams you want to make current, or click Select All

  5. Then click Use as current list

  6. Enter the date that you want students who were removed from the current Team by this action will show as being in the Team until.

  7. Click Use Planned Lists

If you want to do this action to a single Team, simply:

  1. Go to the Planned Teams tab

  2. Click on the three dots of the Team you want to make current

  3. Select Use this as the actual list. This will adopt the planned Team list as the new current Team list for the selected Team and override the current Team list.

  4. Enter the date that you want students who were removed from the current Team by this action will show as being in the Team until.

  5. Click Use Planned Lists

What if I planned the Teams and added the wrong students to them?

You can remove the students in bulk by following these steps:

  1. Go to the Planned Teams tab

  2. Click Manage Teams

  3. Select Empty the Planned Team lists

  4. Tick the boxes of the Teams you want to clear of students or click Select All

  5. Click Empty the planned student list

  6. Confirm by clicking Remove Students

How do 'Planned' Teams work with Activity Selection?

It works easily! Please read our article on Best practices for changing Team seasons.

FAQ

I’d like to delete a team that was created for testing purposes. How is this done?

You can delete a Team by right-clicking on it and selecting the "Delete" option. But beware, this will delete that team in the current form, too, so all data linked to it, including any attendance data and student participation history linked to that Team, will also be removed.

Are Planned Teams the same Teams as the Current Teams?

Yes, Planned Teams are the same as Current Teams. So for example, the 7A Basketball Team, or the Junior Choir will both be the same in Current and Planned Teams, it's only the list of students within the Teams that will be different.

Did this answer your question?