Skip to main content

Bulk Update Existing Teams

This article outlines how to update multiple teams at once.

Only Managers and Admins can update existing Teams.

You may have created Teams without students (see Option 1 in our Creating Teams article). Instead of manually adding 10, 20, and 50 students, you can bulk-update the existing empty teams by uploading a team list!

The below steps can also be used to bulk update existing Teams, both with and without students.

Note: Either the students' names (‘First name, last name’, ‘last name, 'first name’) or their SIS ID numbers can be used in the Team upload.

Top Tip: You can use an existing updated Team list spreadsheet instead of downloading a new one if it is in the same format!

To bulk update existing Teams:

  1. Go to Teams (left sidebar)

  2. Click Manage Teams (top right)

  3. Select Upload Team lists

  4. Select the Activity and upload as the same status of the existing Teams, E.g. if the Team is current, select to upload as current. This means the existing Teams will be matched and updated. Click Next.

  5. Select to download the template with the existing Teams. Click Next. Note: The download will include existing Positions in those Teams.

  6. Make your changes to update the Team lists, then save the Import File.

  7. Upload this Import File. Click Next.

  8. Review the Team, resolving any mismatches in data, then Save.

Your Teams will now be updated with students in them! Here is a video of the above process:


Bulk updating Teams is also handy at the end of a term, year or season when you need to replace all the students in the current teams with new students!

FAQ

How do I save and empty multiple Teams?

To save and empty multiple Teams within an Activity simultaneously, please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Teams tab and relevant Activity

  2. Click on Manage Teams and select Empty Current Team Lists

  3. Select the Teams you want to empty by clicking on the relevant checkbox. To select all, press the ‘Select All’ button.

  4. Click on the Save and empty the student list button

  5. Select the appropriate date you wish the removed students will be marked as being in the Team.

  6. Click Remove Students.

Did this answer your question?