Skip to main content

Best Practice For Changing Teams At The End of A Term, Year, or Season

Read on to find out the best practices relating to teams at the conclusion at the end of each term, year or season.

First, have a read of our What is a Team? Article if you haven't already to get a good overview of Teams and the different terms used such as Current, Older, Planned, Hidden and Unhidden.

Teams and Groups are interchangeable terms in Clipboard.

Removing and Moving Students

When students leave a Team/Group or move between Teams in an Activity, it is essential to remove them from the Team as soon as possible in Clipboard. This will keep the attendance records accurate and ensure their Schedules are correct. Students who are removed or moved from a Team will appear under the Older tab when you select a previous date when they were still in the Team. A great way to find out when a student was previously in the Team is to click on the Team and look at the Attendance Summary, which will show when they were on the roll for that Team and attending scheduled Sessions. You can adjust the date range in this section to see a wider view of student attendance in the Team.

If you need to remove all Students from the Team quickly, you can click on the three dots of a Current Team and select ' Save and empty the student list'. This will save all their attendance data for that Team, but the Team will now be empty to be filled with new students.

Check out our help articles on Moving Students between Teams and Organising Teams.

At the end of a Year or Season

It is recommended to empty the current Team list before adding new students.

To achieve this:

  1. Go to Teams and select the correct Activity

  2. Select the Current tab

  3. Click Manage Teams (top right)

  4. Select Empty the current Team lists

  5. Tick the boxes of the Teams or Categories of Teams you would like to empty

  6. Click Save and empty the student list

  7. A pop-up will appear asking if you wish to remove these students and will ask you to select a date. This date will signify when the students left the Team, and this date will appear in the student's Participation History on their profile page. After making a date selection, select remove students.

Now you will have empty Teams for uploading a new Team list or populating the Team with students who have chosen the Activity through Activity Selection.

Hiding Teams

If you use the writeback Compass integration, hiding teams is not available at this time.

We advise hiding unused Teams, meaning those not being used currently. For example, in the previous year, you may have had 4 Open Basketball Teams, as enough students were playing this Activity to fill those Teams. However, this year, there are only enough students for 3 Open Basketball Teams, so you can hide the 4th unused Team to prevent confusion and keep your Clipboard Environment tidy. When hiding the Team, we also advise saving and emptying the current student list so that the students have a record of their Team participation ending when the Team was no longer being used.

Check out our help article for more Team Tips and FAQ’s.

Planning Teams and Activity Selection

As the Activity Selections banner appears on the Teams page for an Activity for both Current and Planned tabs, it is easy for students to be placed according to their selections in their future Activity under Planned Teams. The use of Planned Teams is completely optional and not required for managing Teams, it's just a great way for you to plan your future Teams!

Check out this article to learn more about Planning Teams on Clipboard.

Simply:

  1. Enter Team Power View and filter to see Planned Teams

  2. Then click Place in Teams on the banner, which will filter students by those who have chosen this Activity

  3. Then move the students into those Planned Teams. Just make sure you create your Teams first! Check out our Creating Teams article to create empty Teams.

  4. Then once it is time for those Teams to become current, click Manage Teams > Use the Planned Team Lists.

  5. Then tick the boxes to select the Teams that are ready to be current and click Use as current list. Choose the date you want the students to be marked as removed (today or a past date).

  6. Click Use Planned Lists.

Note: Use as current list action will remove the students from the current Team as the date you choose (see image below) but will only show students added to the Team from the current date.

Watch our video below on the best practice for changing teams at the end of a season!

Naming Teams by Year Levels and Using the Spreadsheet Method

Alternatively, you may have named your Teams by year group, for example, "Year 7 Basketball Team", and the students just need to be bumped into the next year level's Team rather than go through trials and/or Activity Selection.

In this case, you can simply manually move students into the New Team instead of renaming the current Team when the next academic year starts.

Follow the steps below to move students into the correct year group Teams:

  1. Navigate to the Teams Tab.

  2. In Current Teams, click on the Actions button.

  3. Click on Manage Teams.

  4. Select Upload Team Lists.

  5. Download the template with the existing Teams.

  6. Copy and paste the Teams into the correct year groups.

  7. Upload the Spreadsheet into Clipboard.

Did this answer your question?