Skip to main content

Team Tips and FAQ's

Tips and tricks to teams in Clipboard + FAQ's!

Tips for naming Teams/Groups:

As Teams will be used continuously used throughout all terms, semesters, seasons and years, it is important to follow some best practices for naming your Teams.

  1. Don't include a semester, season or year in the name. As this Team will have one copy that is updated with different students and staff over time. Unless, of course, a specific Team only plays or trains in a specific semester or season each year.

  2. Don't include the Activity name in the Team name. It is not necessary as you will be filtering Teams by Activities, and which Activity is displayed on the Teams page or Schedule will be clear. A Team's Activity will also appear when creating Fixtures.

By clicking on Manage Teams, you can:

  • Upload Team Lists - Upload current or planned Teams

  • Create Teams Without Students - If you wish to create Teams, however, you do not know what students will be added yet.

  • Save and Empty the student list for a current Team—this will remove students from the Team and move the team list to 'older'.

  • Change the Order of Teams - you can change how the Teams are listed.

  • Empty the planned student list (if you are in the Planned Teams Tab) for a planned Team - this will remove all students in that planned Team

  • Use as current list for planned Teams (if you are in the Planned Teams Tab) - this will adopt the planned Team lists as the new current Team lists for the selected Team.

Note: these functions are only available for current and planned Teams.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Why have my Teams disappeared?

Your Teams may be hidden, so check to see if they are listed under the 'Hidden' filter. Also, check if you are viewing older, current, or planned Teams.

What will happen if I delete a Team?

If you delete a Team, you will delete all data linked to that Team, including all attendance data and student participation history linked to that Team.

Note: Archiving/Deleting should only be done when you're certain a team won't be needed again - for example, if you're permanently discontinuing a specific team or program.

How do I bulk update existing Teams?

Check out our help article on Bulk Update Existing Teams for more information on how to do this.

Should I hide a Team or empty the list to Older Teams?

If you plan on using the Team next term/semester/season or year, but the list of students will be different, you'll want to save and empty the student list. This will record student membership and participation, as well as the staff member assigned to the Team and move that to Older. If you don't plan on using the Team for the next term/semester/season/year, you can save and empty the student list and then hide the Team. This simply removes it from your view, allowing you to have a less cluttered list of Teams, as well as keeping the history of participation for that Team.

What would happen if new students are added to a Current Team?

They can be added to the existing Team using Power View. When they are added to the Team will show on their student profile. The existing students will remain in the Team.

However, if you want to save the previous 'current' Team list and begin a new one with new students, you will need to save the Team list and empty the Team. You can provide a date for when students will be marked as removed from the Team, and this can be either a current or past date.

How do I add new students who have selected multiple Options for one activity via Activity Selection, into multiple teams?

Can I merge the current and planned Team lists?

Unfortunately, you cannot merge the two Team lists. If you want to keep the students who are in the current Team and add those in the planned, you will need to add those planned students to the current Team list. Otherwise, if you click 'use this as the actual list' for the planned Team, it will remove those students from the current Team list. You can then click on 'empty the planned student list' in 'Planned' to clear the planned Team list.

Why can't I see all of my teams in the scheduling drop-down box?

The Clipboard drop-down box only displays up to 10 teams. If you have scrolled and still can't find the specific team you're looking for, please try typing the team name to filter your options in the drop-down menu.

How do I unhide a Hidden Team?

  • Go Teams > Select Activity > Select the filter ‘Hidden’ in the Showing tab

  • Click on the three dots next to the team you wish to unhide and select ‘Unhide Team’.

This will add the Team back to your list of active Teams, and you can now use it to schedule Sessions and Fixtures.

How do I remove a singular student from a team?

  1. Go to Teams

  2. Select the Activity

  3. Expand the Team to view the students

  4. Select the three dots next to the student that you want to remove

  5. Select Remove student from this Team

    The students participation history for this team will conclude from today's date that these actions were made.

  6. Need to change the Participation History date? See our article here.

I added students to a Team today and expect them to appear in the Roll for today's Session. However, they aren't appearing. Why?

When students are added to a Team, they will appear on the Team Roll, ready to be marked present/absent in a Session or Fixture, starting the next full school day.

This is to ensure that if team membership changes, e.g. students being removed from Teams, happens in the a.m., that the Team Roll in a Session for the p.m. of the same day, would still reflect the original Team with the students in it.

How do I see when students were added to Teams?

When you hover over the number of days the students have been in the Current Team, it shows which date they were added to the Team:

Did this answer your question?