This is only available with the Activity Selection module.
When students and parents make selections through the Clipboard Portal for Activity Selection, they may find that the Activity or options within have reached full capacity and cannot select the Activity.
Setting up a waitlist will allow students and parents to join the waitlist for that Activity or specific options within it. It will also allow Managers and Admin users to see how many students are waiting to participate in an Activity or the options provided. They can view which students are on a waitlist by going to:
Go to the Activity Selectionstab
Select the Waitlist tab
Filter options if required
How does it work?
A student or parent logs into the Portal and goes to Activity Selection.
They select an Activity or an option within an Activity they wish to join but is at full capacity.
They select Join Waitlist (see image below) and confirm that they want to join the waitlist for this Activity or option.
If a student drops out of the Activity or their preferred option, they will be notified by email that they have been moved into the Activity.
Note: Payment is not taken when joining the waitlist. It will only be required if the student has been placed in their selection.
How do I set up a waitlist?
Waitlists are set by Activity, so to add a waitlist to an Activity:
Go to Settings
Select Activity Selection and choose Selection Groups
Click on the Selection Group with the Activity already added or where you want to add the Activity.
Click on the Activity or add the Activity to the Group.
In the details section, change the dropdown to 'auto-waitlist'. Save.
This will enable students and parents to join the waitlist for that Activity if the allocation is exhausted and automatically add the first choice to the Activity if another student drops out.
Please read our article on Adding Activities to a Selection Group for more information on this process.
What happens when a place becomes available in the Activity?
In Clipboard, the waitlists are 'auto waitlists', meaning that when a place becomes available, the next student in line for that Activity or option within that Activity will be automatically placed. This is determined by the date and time the student was placed on the waitlist, with the earliest being placed first.
Once the student is moved off the waitlist and into their selected Activity, a confirmation email of this placement will be sent to the person who made the selection (see example below). If the Activity selected has Payments for Activity Selection set up, the email will include a link to pay, as payment will only be taken when the student has been placed. Also included in the email is a link for the parent or student to unselect the Activity if there is a change of mind.
What happens once the student is off the waitlist and in the Activity?
Then it's time to place them into Teams! Read more about how to do this in our How to Manage Activity Selections article.
If my Activity's maximum number of participants has been met and I want to open it up to more students, how do I move students off the Waitlist and into their selected Activity?
To expand the Activity Selection and enroll the waitlist students, you will need to open the Activity Selection group if it is currently closed and expand the maximum number of places available for the 'option' (by selecting edit).


