This process requires Admin access. If you are a Manager or Staff user reading this, you can share this article with your Clipboard Admin.
What is archiving?
Archiving means that an Activity, Department, Location, Activity Selection Group, or Resource item no longer appears as an option in a filter.
Important: When you archive, ensure you refresh the page so the changes are reflected on your Clipboard interface. This is only necessary for the User who completed the archive.
Why archive?
Activities sometimes become obsolete due to user error, or you've worked out a better way to structure your Activities on Clipboard. Deleting Activities is not always an option because important student and attendance data must be kept.
Likewise, Departments can sometimes restructure and merge. Therefore, former Departments become obsolete.
Activity Selection Groups become irrelevant. When the selection time period ends, the students have been sorted into their Teams, so the Group no longer needs to be active.
Location details change! Your school may no longer use a particular playing field or external location.
Instruments or items listed in Resources may need to be retired or marked as lost and not recovered.
Have you ever?
Accidentally created an Activity that was meant to be a Team?
Accidentally created a Department that was meant to be an Activity?
Created two identical Location or instrument entries?
Answering 'yes' or nodding your head to the above? This is why we've created the ability to archive!
Top Tip: You can merge duplicate Locations! Check out our Locations in Clipboard article to find out how!
To archive an Activity, Department, Location or Activity Selection Group:
Go to Settings and select either Environment, Locations or Activity Selection Groups
Find the Activity, Department, Location or Activity Selection Group you want to archive and click on the archive button (see image below)
That Activity, Department, Location, Activity Selection Group will now be hidden as an option for everyone throughout Clipboard.
Important: When you archive, ensure you refresh the page so the changes are reflected on your Clipboard interface. This is only necessary for the User who completed the archive.
You can always unarchive an Activity, Department, Location, Activity Selection Group, or Resource. Perform the same steps above, use the filter to view your Archived Activities, Departments, Locations, or Activity Selection Groups, and click on the unarchive button.
To archive an item in Resources:
Go to Resources
Select the item you want to archive, More, and click on the archive button
That item will now be hidden as an option for everyone throughout Clipboard.
To unarchive an item in Resources, perform the same steps above and again click on archive. This will unarchive the item.
Archived Activities attached to Sessions with Unmarked Rolls
It's important to note that archiving an Activity does not remove an unmarked roll. When an Activity is archived, it becomes inactive and is hidden from the active view, but the attendance data, including unmarked rolls, remains in the system. These rolls will still be accessible under the archived activity, but they won't be visible in the active view.
If you need to prevent these rolls from appearing or affecting reports, you will need to manually manage or update the status of these rolls.
To archive an Incident Report:
Do you have any Incidents Reports that you need to remove? Maybe they are duplicates or tests? Good news! You can now archive Incidents Reports.
This allows you to delete Incidents in a non-permanent way. You can filter the Incidents page to show archived or non-archived Incidents. And you can always un-archive Incidents as well.
Simply:
1. Go to Incidents
2. Click on the specific Incident Report
3. Select Archive (bottom right)


