Only IT Admins will be able to set up Portal Authentication.
Enabling Portal Authentication in Clipboard will allow students and parents to log into the Clipboard Portal without using SSO. Instead, they will use their email and set up a password.
Benefits of Portal Authentication
Internal students and parents can log into the Clipboard Portal to view their calendars and make Activity Selections without the school needing to set up SSO.
External students and parents can log into the Clipboard Portal to view their calendars make Activity Selections, and also log absences.
How to set up Portal Authentication:
Click Configure
Tick the boxes for the groups that you want to enable Portal Authentication.
Click Save
Then, when you are ready to invite those groups to access your Clipboard Portal:
Click Send Invites
Leave the boxes ticked for the groups you want to send invites to. This will only send an invite to people in this group who do not currently have Portal access. For security reasons, the invites will expire in 10 days.
If you are having trouble with a student, parent or guardian trying to access the link, please send it again and have the person click the link within the hour.If you wish, you can send portal invites to a subset of students and guardians using the Year Groups, Campus, Homeroom (if this has been uploaded). Otherwise, this can left blank to send invites to all guardians/students.
Click Send Invites
To invite an individual guardian to Clipboard, follow the steps below:
Go to the Students Tab
On the right-hand side, select the relevant guardian.
Scroll down to the "Portal Login Details" section.
Click the "Send Invite Email" button.
Once invites have been sent, they will receive an email inviting them to start by logging in for the first time and setting a password (see images below).
FAQ
How can I test sending a Portal Invite email individually?
After configuring Portal Authentication, if you prefer not to send emails directly from the Portal Authentication page and instead want to handle them individually, follow these steps:
Go to the Student's Profile.
Scroll down to the Guardians and select Guardian name to open the guardian profile.
Under 'Portal Login Details' click on the 'Send Invite Email' button.
Please note; if you are resending an invite email, this link will expire an hour after this is sent.
How can I confirm whether the Portal Invite Link email has been sent to the parent and/or guardians?
To determine if the Portal Invite Link email has been sent to the parent and/or guardians, follow these steps:
Go to the Student's profile.
Scroll down to the Guardians.
Look for an indicator that shows whether the guardians have been invited or not. This will be visible as an invited or not yet invited alert.
Additionally, if the invitation was sent within the last 14 days, you can find a record of it in the Guardians Profile under the Notification Log.
Students Profile:
Notification Logs:
How can I verify if the Portal Invite Link email was sent to a parent or guardian when it was sent over 14 days ago?
To determine if the Portal Invite Link email was sent to a parent or guardian more than 14 days ago, follow these steps:
Select the Students profile, and from here, select the parent or guardian's profile.
Scroll to Portal Login Details in the parent/guardians profile. Under Last Invited, it displays the date and time when the Portal Invite Link was sent to them. This information indicates when the invitation was sent.
Additionally, The Portal Login Details on the Guardians page also show if the Guardians have logged into the Portal, under the last login.
Who does the Portal Invite Link bulk email send to?
You can select which group to send an invite to, according to the group that is set up with Portal Authentication.
This will only send an invite to everyone who does not currently have Portal access set up. For security reasons, invites expire in 10 days.
If you need to re-send the bulk invite, only those who were invited over seven days ago will receive the invite again. Provided the student/guardian still needs to log in.









